F80 fighter plane pilot Colonel Leon W. Gray, Bendix transcontinental race, 1946


One response

  1. Keith Chandler

    In 1957 the last real “race” for the Bendix trophy was won by Capt. Kenneth D. Chandler (my father). The subsequent two “races” were not competitions but simply new speed records, involving one plane and crew, so no actual race. I have pictures of Kenneth Chandler including the trophy if you wish to add them to your web page.

    June 3, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s