Thule Air Base, Greenland, 1953

14 responses

  1. Paul J. Lettieri

    Paul J. Lettieri,(Buffalo NY,)… in Thule Dec. 1952 to Dec 1953 would like to have contact with any other airman there at the tim
    e.

    November 12, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    • Tal Kennedy

      my father was a pilot there from July 1953 to August 1954. Lt. Robert O. Kennedy. While my father has passed away I would really like to share some of my photos, etc if interested.

      November 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm

      • Bernie Ludwig

        HI I was there and saw the plane take off and tried to make it back. It hit under runway into a field of trucks, etc. Ran back to get my old movie camera, took some pictures of entire mess (in those times, you just walked in…no yellow tapes like now). I have it on film if it wasn’t lost from “Sandy” . I’ll keep in touch.

        November 24, 2013 at 5:32 pm

      • Tal Kennedy

        I would really appreciate that Mr. Ludwig. So, you might have some footage from the flight Gene Bascom was killed? Did you know either Gene or my dad Robert Kennedy.

        November 25, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    • Barbie

      Hey Paul, my dad, Charles Harris, says he was there at that time. Ring a bell?

      February 15, 2016 at 2:31 am

  2. Bob sommer

    I was there 53-54

    January 29, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    • Tal H. Kennedy

      Mr. Sommer,

      I have a few group photos my father took while there. If they are of interest I would be happy to forward to you.

      On a separate issue, my father took a few photos of himself and Gene Bascom, his ro during this period. Gene died in a plane crash in 1954 according to my dad’s notes and if there are any family survivors out there I would like to see they get a copy.

      thank you for your time.

      January 29, 2013 at 10:43 pm

      • Chapin Miller

        My dad , Preston Miller, was navigator on the C-124 that crashed at Thule AFB Sept 12, 1954. We were stationed at Westover in Springfield Ma. Would like to know the crew names and any information on the crash.

        January 6, 2014 at 8:13 pm

  3. Hi,my dad was stationed there i think in 1953-54.He was a 21 year old staff sergeant named Charles(Chuck/Charlie)Lindahl.He spoke to me once about a plane that overshot the runway and ran into a hill one early evening.Being he was the only one on base at the time that knew how to operate a tractor,he was placed on recovery detail.He said all 16 or so aboard were killed and BBR.He said in the newspaper he wishes he had tore up his drivers license.Two years later my Dad was flying for TWA.If anybody wants to share please email me.

    February 23, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    • Chapin Miller

      Bernie,
      My dad’s C 124 crashed in a similar manner. Sept 12, 1954. I was told they developed engine trouble shortly
      after take off and returned to base mistaking construction lights for runway. Looking for names of
      crew or any info about accident.

      July 16, 2016 at 3:32 pm

      • Tal H. Kennedy

        My father, Lt. Robert O. Kennedy, was a pilot there from 7/1953-8/1954. His Radar Observer died in a C-124 accident landing or leaving Thule about that time. All records/letters from dad say “engine or mechanical failure”.

        July 19, 2016 at 6:39 pm

      • Chapin Miller

        It sounds like it is likely that Gene Bascom might have been on my dads plane. Going to order detailed accident report which should list crew. A shortened report I have indicated there were 15 on board with 10 deaths. Would like to know survivors names.

        July 19, 2016 at 7:24 pm

      • Tal H. Kennedy

        Thank you, yes I believe Gene Bascom was his RO. For what it’s worth and if Gene has family, I have a wonderful photo of the two of them in their igloo taken just months before he died.

        July 19, 2016 at 8:49 pm

      • Chapin Miller

        I ordered and received a accident report on my dad’s September 12, 1954 C124 crash at Thule. Gene Bascom was not the RO on the flight. The RO was David J. N. Hanks..All eight of the crew were killed in the crash along with three of seven Canadian civilians. One of the civilians survived the crash but later died on the way back to Westover. Will be glad to share any information that I have on this report which is over 500 pages on a DVD.

        August 22, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

