Colonel Eugene Haynes Butler, F-100 Pilot, Vietnam

5 responses

  1. Greg Young

    I’m not sure if you remember me. My name is Greg Young and we spent time in Vietnam and in Phoenix. I have thought about you for years and could not find you. I was going throught some letters and I came across one that reminded me. If you get this let me know where you are and how you are doing…

    May 17, 2011 at 6:41 am

    • Hello Greg,

      This is a photo of my Grandfather Eugene Butler. I am sorry to inform you that he passed away in May 2008. If you want more information or have questions I would love to speak with you. Please contact me via email and I will send you my contact information. jake@eminent-technical.com

      Thanks,
      Jacob R. Johnson

      June 13, 2011 at 2:09 am

  2. John Doyle

    Col. Butlerr and I were friends at Tuy Hoa Air Base in Vietnam. We used to dine together at the “o” club. It was kind of unusual as he was Col. and I was a recently discharges Marine Corporal. I had been hired to work at the Tuy Hoa Power Plants. I can tell you tha he was a great man! I didn’t know him as a Col. Or a pilot, but as a real great guy! Through the years I have often thought of him. I really have the utmost respect for him! John Doyle, USMC Retired

    December 11, 2012 at 4:02 am

  3. James Maddox

    I was station with Col. Butler in 1967 – 1968 and became good friends while stationed at Tuy Hoa, South Vietnam. I have thought about him often. I new he returned to Utah after Vietnam but could never connect with him. I am saddened at his loss, he was a great man and friend in a very tough time of our lives.

    Regards to his family

    James Maddox

    February 20, 2014 at 5:52 pm

  4. Warm regard to the Butler family –
    I was station at Tuy Hoa AFB Republic of Viet Nam on the South China Sea in 1968-69 and knew Col. Butler. Not as a pilot of the F-100 Super Saber in the 31st Tactical Fighter Wing but as my first Branch President in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Baptized August of 1968 I arrived at Tuy Hoa’s 31st Field Maintenance Squadron in September as a two striper Airman 1st Class. Discovered the Branch and that Col. Butler was the Branch President. The story told is that Col. Butler arranged that the base chapel would get air conditioning if the LDS personnel could have access on Sunday for Sacrament and Sunday School and Priesthood on Wednesday night. Not sure when the Colonel left Viet Nam. While there the Branch attended conference in Na Trang, Viet Nam with Bruce R. McConkie presiding.

    Regard Memorial Day 2015
    William

    May 25, 2015 at 12:57 am

Leave a Reply

