F-84 Pilot Maj. Milan R. Forkapa, Jr. of 180th FW, Toledo, July 25, 1961

2 responses

  1. Jeanne Lewen-Kinn

    Milan (Bud) Forkapa was one of the finest, most honest individuals I have ever had the honor to know. I suppose one could say I fell in love with him the first time I met him. I then worked for him in Toledo, at the Old Municipal Airport when it reopened for general aviation, and then again when he was the Commissioner of Aviation for Toledo Express Airport, Toledo Ohio. When I finally, and reluctantly moved from Toledo, I only had one more conversation with him. His news was he was getting married sometime in June in 1993 I believe.

    Only recently, his wife died and his remains were returned to his son in Maumee Ohio. He finally got the resting place he deserved in Arlington National Cemetary. She evidently was a pretty vicious woman, causing a break-up of Bud and his children.

    I’ll always love and care for this brave and wonderful man. Hats off to you Bud Forkapa !! (Lt. Cnl. Milan R. Forkapa).

    Jeanne Lewen-Kinn

    March 21, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    • Anon

      Hi Jeanne, Bud was my grandpa. Thank you for your kind words, it’s wonderful hearing stories about him. I did not have the opportunity to get to know him too well, but did attend the burial at Arlington National Cemetery. Best wishes.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

