Lt. Richard D. Bach, F-84F Thunderstreak Pilot, Chaumont AB, France, May 1962

3 responses

  1. Steve Jungwirth

    No one else has mentioned it but if this is the Richard Bach I’m thinking of, he wrote a book about flying this plane when activated during the Berlin Wall Crisis.
    http://www.amazon.com/Stranger-Ground-Richard-Bach/dp/0440206588
    He also wrote “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”.

    April 4, 2012 at 1:02 am

  2. I absolutely LOVE the photo of Richard Bach and his Thunderstreak!!! I first read his book, STRANGER TO THE GROUND, when I was 12. Reading it was like being in the cockpit with him on that stormy night over Europe. Since then I have re-read it many, many times, most recently just a couple of months ago. It’s still a great book. I’m curious about the serial number of his fighter. I see “490” on the nose gear door. The airplane in his book, “Air Force Jet Two Niner Four Zero Five” [52-9405] doesn’t match any F-84F that I could find, so I’m guessing that he used writer’s license?

    April 4, 2012 at 2:07 am

  3. Zooming in on the fuel tank pylon, I see that this airplane’s serial number is 52-6490. Joe Baugher’s serial number list shows that as a F-84F-35-RE Thunderstreak and: “6490 seen at scrapyard in Socorro, NM”

    April 4, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

