Maj Edward R Johnston, Bendix Trophy Race, Edwards AFB, Sept 1953

8 responses

  1. stephanie johnston

    that’s my dad! i was just wanting to see if the year he won the bendix trophy was posted anywhere on line and the next thing i see is his handsome picture! thank you for making my day!

    November 1, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    • edward ruel "thumper" johnston

      i’m cryn now

      November 10, 2012 at 3:14 am

      • edward ruel "thumper" johnston

        miss him sooo mutch

        November 10, 2012 at 3:16 am

  2. diana merenuk

    this is my uncle! thanks steph for looking this up. so sad to have never truly known all of his accomplishments til he passed. he was truly and american hero! more so, much loved husband, father, uncle, brother in law, friend and grandpa!

    November 7, 2012 at 10:32 am

  3. edward ruel "thumper" johnston

    What a good lookin man. Thanks to him and all of those brave gallent men.

    November 10, 2012 at 3:13 am

  4. Tiffany Moore

    This is my dad and my hero. So sorry my girls will never get to meet him.. I love him so much and miss him. Such a great photo. Thump you look just like him.

    November 12, 2012 at 11:22 pm

  5. Dorothy Feragne

    Dear Stephanie, Tiffany and Thumper, I was your dad’s secretary when he was Base Commander of the 48th Tactical Fighter Wing, RAF Lakenheath, Suffolk, England, in the early 1970’s. I was married to SSgt John P. Feragne and had one son, John, at the time. I’m now 65 years old and, for some reason, I woke up this morning thinking about my life and the people who passed through it and fired up my computer and typed in your dad’s name and found this picture and all your wonderful comments about him. I’m so sorry to read of his passing and for your loss. I just wanted to say that your father was one person who stood out in my mind as a truly outstanding human being. He celebrated his 30th anniversary in the USAAF/USAF while we were stationed there. We also knew your mom and your grandmother, Mrs. Freitag. In fact, your mom and grandmother came to our house with your dad one Saturday morning to deliver a washing machine we had purchased from them. My husband and your father were hooking it up in the kitchen and your mom and grandmother visited with me in the living/dining area while I fed the baby. Your mom, who already had all you children (for some reason, I thought there were 5 of you, but I may be mixing you up with someone else), watched me as I fed my son so meticulously, not letting any drop of food fall on his bib (which was specifically for that purpose)!!! She laughed and told me about you guys (she only ever called Thumper by that name – I never knew his name was Edward!) and how it was impossible to be so meticulous with a passel of kids! She teased me one day on the telephone and asked “Do you let him play yet!” Then, at Christmas that year, we received a big package from your parents for our son. When he opened it up on Christmas morning, it was a wooden zoo, with all the animals and the outer fence of the zoo with a couple of buildings. It was beautiful – and it had a gazillion wooden pieces! She made sure he was going to have hours upon end “to play” and I was going to have hours upon end picking up the pieces!!! lol I loved her! They were a terrific couple and both were wonderful role models for us as a young, married couple far from home. They were well loved by all at RAF Lakenheath and my husband and I feel blessed to have known them. I also found your dad on a list of the Army/Air Force recipients of the silver star for gallantry during WWII. All the best in 2013 to you all and don’t worry, Tiffany, about your girls never getting to meet him. Everything you know about him is how you can let your girls “meet” him. Tell them all the stories until they are embedded in their hearts. I did this with my 3 sons and, now, with my 11 grandchildren. They know my dad as well as I did, even though they had never met him. We carry those we love in our hearts and we can always pass that on!

    January 4, 2013 at 11:52 am

    • stephanie johnston

      dear dorothy. i remember you! i remember the story of your shaky beginning with my dad. we had JUST gotten to lakenheath. i had an accident and badly cut myself while we were still in base housing. you sent an airman to pick me up since daddy was in a meeting. i guess he got pretty irate! but he regretted this and told the story more than once. he and mom spoke of you frequently and very fondly. i was 4 then. and yes there were five of us. tiffany and her brother were adopted after i was grown and left home. daddy was indeed a special and honorable human being. the world is a lesser place without him in it. thank you for the stories. i will pass them along to mom. she’s gotten fairly frail these days but she’s still kickin. i will be revisiting lakenheath this summer for my 50th birthday. can’t wait to walk down memory lane. all the best!

      February 3, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

